Hisar Shield Award

Established in 1998

The Hisar Shield Award is considered a “Life Time Achievement Award” by the Anatolian Shepherd Dog Club of America (ASDCA). In 1998, the Anatolian Shepherd Dog Club of Great Britain voted to send the ASDCA a new perpetual trophy to be given in memory of Natalka Czartoryska. Since the 1970’s, the one name that has come to be synonymous with Anatolian Shepherd Dogs world-wide is Natalka Czartoryska. From her home in Surrey, England, Natalka fought valiantly for recognition of the breed both in England and internationally by FCI. The Hisar Shield Award honors Natalka and her dedication to preserving the Anatolian Shepherd Dog (also known as “Coban Kopegi”). The ASDCA designated the Hisar Shield Award for recognition to an individual (or individuals) who have given extraordinary service to the ASDCA and breed by his/her long-time record of service and leadership involving activities performed on behalf of the ASDCA. It is only bestowed upon an individual(s) when they are deemed worthy of that unique honor. Starting in 2020 the award is offered every two years.

Provided below is a list of the Hisar Shield recipients who are current and former club individuals that played a prominent role in the success of the ASDCA:

2023 Carol White
2020 — Laura Edstrom Smith
2017 — Demetrios (Jim) Kyres, Major USMC Retired
2015 – Rhys and Sigrid Owen
2011 – Kathy Gerlach
2010 – Deborah Grunnah
2009 – Dorothy Ballard
2008 – Gary and Barbara Jakobi
2007 – Genia Kyres
2006 – Tom Crockett
2005 – Erin Talon
2004 – Ed Orr, Sr.
2002 – Louise Emanuel
2000 – Quinn (Skip) and Marilyn Harned
1998 – Robert C. Ballard, Cdr., USN Retired

Hisar Shield Guidelines & Form